Northwestern Wins: A College Hoops Blog

An ode to Verne Lundquist’s calls and everything college basketball

Thursday’s Selections

Posted by Zach on November 20, 2008

Zach’s Picks: (Season Record: 23-25-1)

Missouri (+4) over Xavier- PUSH
Southern California (-8.5) over Seton Hall- LOSS
Southern Illinois (+12.5) over Duke- LOSS
Illinois (+5.5) over VANDERBILT- WIN
Tulsa (+7.5) over OKLAHOMA STATE- LOSS
UCLA (-11.5) over Michigan- LOSS

Patrick’s Picks: (Season Record: 31-17-1)

Missouri(+4) over Xavier- PUSH
Southern California (-8.5) over Seton Hall- LOSS
Duke (-12.5) over Southern Illinois- WIN
VANDERBILT (-5.5) over Illinois- LOSS
OKLAHOMA STATE (-7.5) over Tulsa- WIN
Michigan (+11.5) over UCLA- WIN

Tommy’s Picks (Season Record: 29-19-1)

Missouri (+4) over Xavier- PUSH
Southern California (-8.5) over Seton Hall- LOSS
Duke (-12.5) over Southern Illinois- WIN
Illinois (+5.5) over VANDERBILT- WIN
Tulsa (+7.5) over OKLAHOMA STATE- LOSS
Michigan (+11.5) over UCLA- WIN

18 Responses to “Thursday’s Selections”

  1. Zach said

    Some difficult games to pick today. Especially SIU-Duke.

  2. Daniel said

    Hope you guys are right about Mizzou. I think it’ll be a great test for us, and if we can rattle Xavier’s young guards we have a chance.

  3. Zach said

    Xavier comes back and wins by 4. Vegas continues to amaze.

  4. Daniel said

    Tough, tough loss for us today. So disappointing to piss the game away at the FT line, but nearly knocking off Xavier bodes well the rest of the way.

  5. David said

    No live blog?

  6. Zach said

    I did it for a while but it was just Pat and I chatting for the entire first half. Maybe I’ll do it tomorrow night.

    Man, SIU just collapsed tonight. I can’t catch a break.

  7. David said

    And USC cost me. I knew the Hall would be close, but not win.

    And Bob Knight is putting me to sleep.

  8. Brian said

    Big win for my Pirates!! Keep it up!

  9. Zach said

    Michigan is leading midway thru the 2nd. I’m already preparing to defend my conference tournament pool title CMON

  10. Brian said

    UCLA better win, I’m going tomorrow and don’t wanna see Duke vs Michigan!!!!! lol.

  11. Brian said

    How about Texas Tech! 167 points. Even against a D2 team that is crazy.

    77 in the first and 90 (!) in the second!

  12. Patrick said

    I am a God. Ask Zach, five minutes before the game started I said “Michigan is going to win this game,” so I switched my pick.

    Wolverines!

  13. Zach said

    MICHIGAN!!!! Man, they deserved this. Not to channel Jim Nantz but “what a game!”

    That 1-3-1 zone completely befuddled UCLA.

  14. Zach said

    He did call this. I can confirm.

  15. Patrick said

    Not over yet……..

  16. Zach said

    OVER. John Beilein is such a great coach. Can Michigan beat Duke????

  17. Patrick said

    It’s very possible if they can play defense like they did tonight. Manny Harris had one of the worst games I’ve seen him play, and Sims is ridiculous I think he could lead this team over Duke.

    Tonight both teams missed a lot of opportunities in the fast break, and there were a ton of offensive fouls called in both games. Michigan may not be able to hang with Duke but if I know one thing its that Michigan will have a lot of confidence tomorrow night which should go a very long way.

  18. Brian said

    Great night of hoops all around. We’re in for a spectacular season.

Leave a Reply

 
